Goodie In Greece

gone greek

Last Day of School!

on June 26, 2014

The last day of school was a whirlwind of hugs, goodbyes, thoughtful gifts, and sentimental cards and emails from students, parents, and colleagues. There was also a student talent show and a huge staff lunch at a nearby restaurant beneath a canopy of mulberry trees. (The wine was flowing, so I decided to show my British colleagues how American teachers celebrate on the last day of school…) It was a really lovely day — a great end to a great school year. And thanks to the very generous gift card I received from my students’ parents, I was able to purchase a new suitcase for my trip to Russia! (The wheel fell off my old suitcase, and I was planning on just lugging it around on the rim. This is way better!)

IMG_6753 IMG_6771

The talent show featured a lot of singing and dancing, although my personal favorites were the World Cup-inspired performances and the Cups song (a throwback to my farewell party in DC last year… before the cops arrived to quiet us down). 🙂

IMG_6764 IMG_6762IMG_6759

To close out the school year, I had my students write letters to their future selves, full of good advice from their 8-year-old selves. I received this email from one of my awesome little students this afternoon…

I WILL MISSS YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am extremely sad that you’re leaving. Here’s some advice for YOU so listen up:

  • Always meet new people
  • Call me to your wedding
  • Keep up the adventure
  • Stay calm and PARTY ON!
  • Go to new places
  • KEEP LEARNING!!!!!!!
  • Have fun
  • Make new friends

That’s all!!!!! You’ve been the best teacher EVER!!!!!!

❤ and 🙂
Love, Kleo

 

2 responses to “Last Day of School!

  1. Doug Good says:

    Hi Laura, How can young students be so bright? How can young children know what’s right?

    Hold them securely. Hold them tight. So, soundly they sleep throughout the night. Love, Dad

    >

  2. Linda says:

    Love it….what great advice!

Leave a Reply

